Reminiscing – cheese, pistacchio and prune cake

My first post is going to have to be a reminiscing one, because I am sat at my laptop and not cooking. Naturally. But my fingers are burning to get started, so this is what I will do.

When I made this, I was back in Budapest, where I live, and have been looking forward to trying this since I discovered it on Rachel Khoo’s cooking show, the Little Paris Kitchen. (If you don’t know it, look it up. I promise you will fall in love.)

I made this of a very soft goat’s cheese which you shouldn’t do, because your fingers will get all sticky like mine did and you end up licking more cheese off of your fingers than what you’re actually putting in the cake.

By the way, this is a delicious savory cake – something French people adore. You have to admit after trying this that they have a point. Taking this cake out of the oven after baking for 40 minutes was the best moment of my day. The smell of that incredible cheese and freshly baked bread is guaranteed to get your senses going. Not to mention the fact that if you don’t like the sweet and savory mix, you can replace the prunes with olives, the pistacchio with peanuts, or basically anything with anything you fancy – it is only the cake itself that’s the same, and otherwise, same rules apply.

The crust was crunchy, the inside was soft but not gooey, and I honestly don’t usually eat much of what I make (I much prefer seeing other people’s faces light up – if they do), but I had at least three slices of this (or more, if I’m perfectly honest). I did. No lies. It tasted and smelled like heaven.

Forget butter! Don’t you dare ruin this if you do try it. Eat it pure and without anything else. Regard it as a sort of sandwich-replacer. Take it to picnic. Trust me on this one.

If you do want to try this, you can find the recipe on BBC Food, or Rachel Khoo’s Youtube channel, which I am honestly too lazy to look up right now, but usually I promise I will share the recipes too. But for now, all you get is a picture of the outcome – go, drool. I do, every damn time!

Cheese, pistacchio and prune cake

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

