Well now, this isn’t Instagram…

…But still. This sandwich is gorgeous enough to be posted here.

salmonsandwhich (4)

Short and sweet: the San Francisco-style sour dough is fresh. And I mean so fresh that I picked it up from the bakery, brought it home and now I’m licking my fingers because they still smell like it. It’s crunchy with just a bit of sourness and a rustic crust that is full of taste. Did you know that French people actually tend to prefer the crust to the dough because it apparently has more taste? It is true, they know what they are doing when it comes to bread. I can only imagine now what it must smell like in a Parisian bakery in the morning…

The Salmon is a Scottish one and sliced a little too finely – I doubled up the layers here, because I wanted the taste of the fish to dominate. Such a delicacy, salmon. Sometimes, you just have to go for it, eh? I actually much prefer smoked salmon to the pan-fried or poached variant, because the smoky quality brings out the best of the fish.

Otherwise, I sided the sandwich with cottage cheese which has a very light texture and a mild taste that goes brilliantly with the salmon’s saltiness. Finally, the sweet-and-savoury cherry tomatoes complemented the sandwich nicely, and the drizzle of lemon on the fish gave it even more vividness. The egg on top was just an extra.

In other news, I acquired a box grater from a charity shop yesterday for a ridiculous fee of 75p. I was really in need of one and now – for practically nothing – I have another super useful kitchen utensil in my collection.

Also, the Anolon frying pan is still sitting on my shelf. I’m so terrified of getting it dirty. I promise I will man up soon though. I will keep you posted.

Finally, this weekend, look out for a delicious dessert recipe coming up on the blog – it’s my birthday on Sunday, and I think I’ll like a nice surprise.

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well now, this isn’t Instagram…

  1. LFFL says:

    So pretty! Loving the colors.

Leave a Reply

