Christmas dinner – Part 1

So tomorrow we’re having our 1st (and probably last) annual (kind of) Christmas dinner with my flat – and me, as the self-designated chef, have started cooking today already. You know, just to make sure.
Our menu will consist of the following:
Brie and cranberry parcels, created by my flatmate – she has already done the sauce, and it is so delicious. Wonderful, really, what cheap wine can do.
Roast shoulder of lamb stuffed with spinach, cashew and mascarpone – a recipe I’ve stolen from Gordon Ramsay in part, and it looks like it is going to be a complete mess / complete wonder.
Spinach quiche / Quiche á l’épinards for my vegetarian flatmates – this one is thanks to Julia Child.
Chocolate and Baileys cheesecake – already tastes gorgeous, imagine when it will be set!
So what I’ve done today is stuff the lamb by partially cooking the spinach with butter, mincing cashew and mixing these two with softened mascarpone – then, with bare hands, into the lamb it went. The tying part will never be my favourite though, the stuffing kept coming out and I couldn’t even tie a proper knot, no matter how much I tried to shield with fresh thyme. I’m sure it will taste delicious, I just hope the whole thing doesn’t fall apart in the oven.

lamb

The cheesecake recipe, you can find here – it’s very easy, and highly recommended. By me.
So stay tuned to find out if I’m having a meltdown over my lamb, right about this time tomorrow.
P.S. I spent about 3 hours in the kitchen despite all the quick-and-easiness; hence why I had scrambled eggs for dinner. Just like that.
About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Desserts, Main meals, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

