Duck down

Well, there was no more delaying it, it had to be done today. But hey! I’m here, alive and well (something the duck can’t really say) and it all went down just fine.

After spending half an hour of just talking to the duck, I decided it may be time to cut into it. The thing is, it still had its head and feet on – something not even Julia Child prepared me for. This is the closest I’ve been to an animal that’s dead but still resembles an animal, so it was kind of freaky. That’s when I came up with this solution:

duck (1)

It looked much less like a real duck this way, and so finally I got the courage to chop its head off violently and proceed to make that damn incision on its back. (It has to be noted that the red wine helped too…)

It took me almost three hours to completely de-bone the beast (including a dinner break) – but the funny thing is, I actually had fun doing it. Yes, I had to sewer bones, scrape out fat with my fingers, cut off its stinky butt, take out its liver… but in the end, this is the first and probably only time I’ll ever do this, so why not make the most of it?

Julia says in her description of how to de-bone a duck, “By the time you have completed half of this, the carcass frame, dangling legs, wings and skin will appear to be an unrecognizable mass of confusion and you will wonder how in the world any sense can be made of it all.” She wasn’t lying. But in the end, it all turned out just fine. Here’s some pictures to demonstrate:

duck (2)

duck (3)
duck (4)

I only cut my finger about 4 times, and the skin was only pierced twice (one of which my mother is responsible for, because she had to have her say). All in all, I was meant to season this meat and scoop the duck meat back onto it, roll it up and chill, but I am too tired and too tipsy for that. So now it is resting in a table cloth in the fridge until tomorrow, and I’ll be back with the next step ๐Ÿ™‚

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugรกr, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Duck down

  1. Sam Aldred says:

    Blaming mother? Sure it wasn’t the booze?! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. sgrvrnk says:

    Haha! No I promise, I didn’t have enough whilst working – would have been quite dangerous ๐Ÿ˜€ I cut my fingers even without alcohol in my system ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

