I’m back with Carbonnades á la Flamande. What?

Well I know it has been a while, but I have been extremely busy with enjoying my life and doing nothing. After that, I was very busy resting after all this doing nothing. Life is hard right now. But I am trying to cope.
Anyways, way back when I got my Le Creuset in the post, I remember promising that I would cook this dish that involves cooking beef in beer. Exciting, huh? If you have read this blog before, you will know that I cooked beef in red wine not too long ago (bourguignon) – this dish is like the pair of boeuf bourguignon.

carbonnades (5)Now I know what you might think – it looks exactly the same as the bourguignon. But do not be fooled!

The difference between the two is just one – the beer. Also, the recipe didn’t call for any carrots. But the method is very similar – starting by drying the meat and then browning it on all sides. After that come the onions, browned in oil for about ten minutes, then seasoned with salt, pepper, and a hell of a lot of garlic. Yumm.

All you do is lay down a layer of meat in your casserole, season it, top it with a layer of onions, then beef again, and so on until you’re out of both. Then, you add your thyme, parsley, bay leaf and a cup of beef stock – and finally, your bitter lager, about a pint or until your meat is covered. Here, you also add a tablespoon of (originally brown) sugar (I don’t have any so I went for white which worked just fine). This is to lessen the bitterness, I mean it is beer, after all. Season thoroughly, bring to the simmer on top of the stove, then cover and in she goes for two and a half hours.

Here’s the pot before it went in (and before I mixed in the greens):

carbonnades23 (9)

And the three stages before the final assembly:

carbonnades23 (10)
Note on the sauce: it is the juices that are drained from the meat (as you can see), and, as usual, thickened with a butter and flour paste. So delicious.

The potatoes were simply boiled, while I melted butter separately and mixed in a big bunch of fresh parsley. This made the potatoes creamy and shiny and delicious, such a delight.

It is an easy dish to make, it just takes a bit of time and affection. 🙂

Good to be back!

carbonnades (1)

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back with Carbonnades á la Flamande. What?

  1. Hm! I’ve never heard of this dish before. Looks good though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

