A salad for a cold day – Tuna salad with mustard dressing

When the heating disappears from your flat and you are sitting in 15 degrees, which is way below room temperature, well… you sleep in five layers and drink soup. Which is kind of what I did yesterday.

But when the heating is back but it is still freezing, but you just don’t want to cook anything – well that’s when you make this delicious salad.

Now the original version of this belongs to my mother of course, and nothing beats her’s: she puts rice into the mix, which gives a whole new delicious layer to the dinner. But if you’re lazy like me, this is what I have used:

tuna4Plum tomatoes
Pepper
Black olives
Cucumber
Sweetcorn
A can of tuna

The dressing is fuss-free too: I used mustard, olive oil, a pinch of thyme, a pinch of cayenne, salt and pepper, all whisked together nicely.

You have to understand, I hate salad. And when I say salad, I mean those bags filled with salad leaves with different colours, trying to look exciting – but they don’t fool me. This is pretty much why I simply cannot do a diet… Amongst other reasons…

Anyways, I challenge you to send me a dressing recipe that can make salad interesting! Help me cut back on butter and double cream!
Until then, try this tuna salad. Promised to make you feel like you’re being healthy – and honestly, I missed the crunchiness of fresh vegetables so much…

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A salad for a cold day – Tuna salad with mustard dressing

  1. go yogurt-based! yogurt, poppy-seed, a bit of lemon, salt, vinegar and hmmm maybe something else. an herb? dill?

Leave a Reply

