Olive, pea and pepper frittata – no one told me frittatas were easy!

Seriously though, frittatas are scary… (Fritatta being the thick Spanish omelette that is just as good for breakfast as for dinner.) For the past week, my fridge contained the following:
– 1 red pepper
– half a can of black olives
– quarter of a bag of frozen peas
– half a cube of butter
– an unopened pack of double cream
– a jar of Dijon mustard
– a pack of unopened chillies
– a root of ginger
– 6 eggs

A real vicious circle: I eat out because I have nothing at home, and I have nothing at home because I eat out. Well, this is what you can do with about half of these ingredients:

frittata (1)You wouldn’t think, would you? I didn’t. This experience was also exciting because I finally took all my courage and tried the British grill – I am so used to the oven back home with the grill function that the idea of keeping the oven door open whilst grilling just seemed scary. It worked though, as you can see! And the final interesting point: I got that pan at Waitrose for 12 pounds, and it was absolutely non-stick (like not even a little bit) and look how well I started off my omelette on top of the stove and finished it off under the grill. Now that felt really cool.

So anyway, for this frittata, I used:

– 1 red pepper
– half a can of olives
– 3 eggs
– a fistful of frozen peas
– Parmesan (the kind that you can get in a little shaker, and a hell of a lot of it)
– salt, pepper and garlic

Leave your peas to thaw and preheat your grill to super duper hot. Chop up finely your pepper and cut your olives in half. After this, refresh your peas under running hot water.

Whisk three eggs with seasoning and Parmesan cheese (or any grated cheese you find).

Heat a little oil in a grill-proof pan and fry your vegetables for 2 minutes until heated through but not coloured. Add your egg mixture and make a few folding movements, until the eggs start to scramble. Turn of the heat, and cover the top of the frittata with more cheese (cheeeeese… yumm.). Now pop it under your super duper hot grill for about 2 minutes or until set like a colourful pancake. Ta-dah! Your amazing frittata is ready!

frittata (4)

I swear, this thing is so good you forget it’s actually just grilled scrambled eggs.

P.S. Damn, I forgot I have a can of sardines in the cupboard… it would have been perfect…

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

