The Story of How Mr Jones Came Up With the Perfect Pasta Recipe

When I know that he is coming over, I always try to balance his taste and my pleasure in cooking. I’m not saying he is picky, it’s more the case of a … peculiar kind of taste. Anyway, there are a few things that he likes for sure, and three major things on that list are bacon, cheese and spinach. (Who doesn’t? Yum!)

Although I never thought of combining those things into a pasta dish.

So when he suggested that I do, I was taken with the idea. Add a little double cream (a little, yeah right) and we are more than on the same page – so I was eager to try this recipe. I’m not going to lie, the dish requires a bit of preparation – but when you’re on your own in your flat on a Friday night with a bottle of red wine at hand and a playlist with all your singalong cheer-up songs, you’re unstoppable. I know I am.

huwpasta11You know the ingredients, so here’s the method.

I started by cooking the pasta – I got it out of the way. Whilst that was boiling, I also started to sautée my spinach in a generous amount of butter, salt, pepper and nutmeg. I drained the pasta and waited until my spinach wilted to its normal measures, then put it into a colander and let it drip dry.

Next, I wiped out the massive pan I used for the spinach, then fried the bacon in the same pan. When the bacon was nice and pink, I added my pasta, stirred it a little and then added a whole pack of double cream. I let it reduce and waited until the pasta absorbed enough of it. I turned the heat off and went to grate a generous amount of cheddar – I used a cheddar that is rather mild but still had that nice strong flavour – I guess kind of in the middle.

I turned the heat back on under the pasta and added my cheese – it melted into the sauce and onto the pasta, making the whole dish gooey, creamy and delicious. The final step was gently stirring the spinach into the mix and adding a nice nob of butter, giving the pasta a nice shine and a little bit of nutty flavour.

huwpastaSo not only is this dish evident and easy – it is also extremely nice with all good things, and it also earned hundreds of boyfriend and girlfriend points. Kudos to Mr Jones.

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Story of How Mr Jones Came Up With the Perfect Pasta Recipe

  1. Hi there,

    (I don’t know how to catch your attention but hopefully you could spare me a minute to read this message.)

    My name is Freddy. Surfing on the net I found your blog and noticed you have a great number of tasty recipes there, that is why I am contacting you. I wonder if you would like join our website http://www.mytaste.com and receive more visitors to your blog through making your recipes available to a greater number of internet users.

    Mytaste.com has been launched recently and from the first day it has gained popularity among food lovers. Today the site can be found in 45 countries, where we deliver thousands of visitors to food blogs daily. Some Top Food Blogs on our pages receive more than 20 thousands unique visitors a week.

    Recently and to improve the user experience and develop their loyalty we added social features that allow our users to create cookbooks, save recipes and follow other users. This means that when a recipe from your blog is saved, the user will always have the opportunity of visiting your blog again.

    So, if this sounds like a good plan to you, please visit our website & add your blog through the Top Food Blogs section here: http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog There you will find all the instructions you need to follow to become a part of our bloggers family.

    Hopefully your food blog will be up there in the top!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact us at info@mytaste.com

    Warm regards,
    Freddy

Leave a Reply

