Hello From Croydon – A New Era – Wiener Schnitzel Steaks

When I say new era, I mainly mean new kitchen. I know I’ve mentioned that I am moving to a new flat – well that move is now complete (even the internet is connected now) and so I am back on the blog, finally.
I’d like to start by introducing my new kitchen. It has got an electric hob which heats up so fast I don’t even have time to blow my nose; the oven finally has proper temperature measures on it (grill included) and we even bought a microwave. It’s red and it looks cooler than it sounds. Anyway, without further explanation, ladies and gentlemen:
kitchen3 kitchen2 kitchen4
It is definitely a one-person kitchen, but my boyfriend doesn’t object to that.
We’ve moved in about a week ago, so until now it has been takeaway pizza and buttered toast. Yesterday though, I finally got around to making something that took more than 10 minutes – and that would be Wiener Schnitzel steaks.
Why I call them steaks? Well, The point of the breaded schnitzel is usually that it is huge, but thin, like it has been bashed with a rolling pin. Traditionally pork, although sometimes chicken, and so very deliciously crispy. Most of those things manifested in my creation too – except my schnitzels were made of pork shoulder steaks, and so by definition, they were as thick as my finger.
wienerschnitzel steak (2)
For a portion that served two and left one slice for today’s lunch, I used:
4 thick pork shoulder steaks
3 eggs
About 10 tbsp flour
A generous amount of breadcrumbs (nothing fancy, I used what I had)
Lots and lots of flavourless oil (vegetable/sunflower etc.)
Frying these babies is actually much easier than I though. I always had this paranoia about breading meat. The breading order goes like this: flour – egg – breadcrumb. This is what kept me up. Doesn’t the egg wash off the flour? How are the crumbs going to stick? To be honest, I learned on the job, so I guess I can proudly say I am no longer scared of breading. (Hey ho!)
Anyway, for those of you who haven’t done it before: you dip your meat into the flour and cover it really well, every inch. Shake off the excess, then dip the meat into the beaten eggs in a separate bowl; cover with the egg all over, because this will be the glue for the breadcrumbs. Finally, roll your meat very well in the crumbs, making sure once again that every inch of it is well coated.
Heat enough oil in a deep frying pan so that it covers the meat at least halfway. Wait until the oil is sizzling (you can test with a crumb), then put your steaks into the oil, laying them away from you. 
Now normally, if these were skinny schnitzels, you’d need about 2 minutes on each side; in this case, I fried them for about 4.5 each, making sure the breading doesn’t burn. All this time made the crust even crunchier though, so it’s win-win. When you feel like you’re done, once again only in this case I do recommend cutting into each slice a little, just to make sure you’re not serving raw pork, because no one will thank you for that.
I served the steaks with a mixture of rice, sweetcorn and peas (a school cantine classic) and they were a hit. Much quicker than they look, these thick pork steaks are delicious and actually quite a fast dinner to make. You can even do all that washing up whilst your meat is frying.

wienerschnitzel steak (1)

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello From Croydon – A New Era – Wiener Schnitzel Steaks

  1. Nagyi says:

    welcome back,I was missing your food essays!!!Nagyi

  2. mrsaldred says:

    Nomnomnom. Shallow or deep fry?

Leave a Reply

