Soft Lamb Chops with Red Wine Sauce

I haven’t bought lamb in ages. The last time I did, I bought a big piece for our flat Christmas dinner last year, stuffed it and cooked it for an hour and something – but for some reason, since then, I think of lamb as some super-expensive, fancy dinner that should be eaten only on special occasions.
Yesterday though, I bought some small lamb chops (boneless), and they turned out so juicy and fine, I think I’ll be buying lamb a lot more from now on.
redwinelamb (1)Here’s how I prepared them (and had a lot of fun doing it too!):
I seasoned the chops on both sides, then seared the lamb chops on high heat for 2 and a half minutes on one side or until coloured, then turned them and browned them on the other side. Still on high heat (and this is my favourite part), I added a generous splash of red wine and let it bubble away until reduced and all the alcohol has burned off. Then, I added a splash of water for a bit more texture and let that reduce too.
At this point, the lamb chops were ready. The texture on the outside seemed a bit rubbery, but turned out pink and extremely soft on the inside. Splashed with the sauce, it was an absolute delicacy. The cuminy potatoes were my boyfriend’s request – he liked them so much last time, we went with them again.
redwinelamb (3)
I’d advise for anyone to try this easy method – with enough seasoning (and a pinch of cayenne as usual), this dish really tastes amazing. And for those with more experience: any good tips on how to cook lamb? They were delicious like this, but I’d love to experiment with it.
Cheers!
About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Soft Lamb Chops with Red Wine Sauce

  1. mrsaldred says:

    Look divine. Thought of thickening up the joux with some cornflour/creme fraiche? Looks lush though!

  2. mrsaldred says:

    Also I find a quick sear then finishing on low heat in the oven helps – need a pan thag can do both though! Then cooking off sauce in same pan whilst resting means theyre even jucier!

Leave a Reply

