Tamarind-glazed Chicken – Experiments

I’ve had a chronic fear of chicken thighs for about two years now. The reason for this is two years ago I bought a pack of fresh chicken thigs from a butcher – it was the first time I’ve bought fresh meat, and the first experiments with cooking too. So obviously, I was over-confident and an absolute amateur.
The experiment ended in me having chicken thighs for dinner which were still leaking blood from the inside, the sight of which made me so sick I threw up. It was disgusting. So when I say it was a big step that I tried to cook thighs again, I really do mean it.
tamarindchicken (1)
They turned out really fine though, thank Heavens – there was no blood, just tasty chicken and crispy skin, a consistency which provides me with ultimate pleasure. In fact, when my Mom used to make chicken with crispy skin, I used to just steal the skin and left the meat behind. (Who am I kidding, I’d still do it if I didn’t feel bad about it.)
Now, I know that you’ve been seeing roast potatoes on my blog for the last I don’t even know how many posts, and that’s an issue. But my creativity is stuck. It’s like a chef’s block or something. I can’t think of any good and interesting side dishes. Suggestions, anyone? (Not that I don’t live crispy skinned, soft on the inside potatoes, but one can’t just have potatoes forever…)
The glaze on my chicken was an Asian-style glaze I actually came up with, so I was quite proud it turned out delicious. Here’s what was in the glaze (a dash/spoonful of each):
Soy sauce
Fish sauce
Tamarind paste
Sugar
Black pepper
Olive oil
Tiny dash of sesame seed oil
Minced garlic
I rubbed this paste all over the thighs and let them sit in it for about an hour until they turned brownish all over. After the marinade, it’s the usual stuff: I gave the thighs a little colour in a pan first, and then roasted them in the oven with some cut up potatoes for about an hour and fifteen minutes until the meat was soft and juicy, and the potatoes were soft.
Before the cooking, I was scared that the paste tastes too sour, too sticky, not so good – but after the cooking, the mixture turned sweeter, stickier and genuinely delicious (not bragging). Also, thanks to the high water content in the marinade, the mixture kept the chicken moist in the oven without drying out, and so it wasn’t the kind of chicken thighs you get bored of halfway through eating.
Give it a try if you like – it’s an easy, fail-proof recipe for an everyday, but more interesting than that still.

tamarindchicken (4)

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Main meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

