We’re Back to Meat – Apologies to Enthusiastic Vegetarians

So that vegetarian post really got you guys reading, huh? I always wonder why. For example, I already know that this post won’t get half as many of you interested as the previous one did. Even though this was really rather tasty…
Have I written about pork loin before? It’s a rather cheap cut, even for Waitrose, and I only discovered it last month. I love everything about it. Very tasty, very simple to cook, and it only slightly reminds one of a walrus’ privates. Not to put you off though, see for yourself.
porkloin1 (3)
Anyways, I found this meat to be so easy to use. Flavour it as you want, then just whack it into the oven and it is ready in about 40 minutes or so.
For this occasion, I used a varied mix to spice up the dinner.
porkloin1 (2)
But I’ll write it down just for the hell of it… So for marinading, I used
3 tbsp Worcester sauce
4 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp olive oil
1 big pinch of black pepper
1 big pinch of salt
1 tsp brown sugar
And now that I think of it, I gave it a small drizzle of honey too. Must have forgot to include it in the picture.
The fun part: rubbing this mixture into the mix. (Again, don’t be put off.)(Yes, I am very entertained by the similarity I mentioned before. Even though it reminds me of the movie Tusk, which honestly gave me nightmares and I made my boyfriend swear never to speak of it again. What a horrible film that was. Yikes.)
Back to topic…
I left this bad boy marinade for about 3 hours under a foil-cover. Before cooking, I added a cup of water, which evaporated slowly during the oven time and kept the meat extremely soft and juicy.
After about 30 minutes at 180 degrees, and then an extra 10 minutes with a grill function set to medium-high, cut into the middle of the meat to check it’s no longer bloody – and you’re ready to go for something like this:
porkloin (6)Doesn’t that look gorgeous?
Now I am aware that foodies are going to come at me with ‘where is the sauce’, and I am totally to blame. But I was too lazy, and that’s the honest truth. I would have gone for ketchup, but I am not a fan. So here’s a little competition for you! 
If you’ve got a great idea for a sauce for this dish, write the recipe down in the comments and I will give you a major reward. … well… How about a mention in my next post?
 PS. I just remembered the last time I made this…
Served with cubed, fried courgettes and cranberry jam.
porkloin2
Also delicious.
About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

