Holiday Fudge – Cheap, easy, pretty, delicious, or the perfect Christmas present

It’s pretty insane that Christmas is already over, isn’t it? I know this post might come just a little bit too late, but hey – there are distant relatives, Valentine’s day, post-Christmas friendly meet ups, and thousands of other excuses as to why make this delicious fudge. (Not to mention simply because you want to.)
IMG_3221
I’ve never made fudge before. I was told it is hard, needs a candy thermometer (just mentioning that will discourage many) and all kinds of rumours. Well, bah humbug. This fudge recipe is super easy to get right – and here are the ingredients:
500g brown sugar 
125g butter
120ml milk
250g peanut butter (I prefer crunchy, but whatever suits your fancy)
1 dash of vanilla extract
300g icing sugar

Ingredients and method are taken from this recipe – decorated below with my own tips and tricks.

So first off, just melt the butter. Then add the brown sugar and the milk and bring it to the boil. It may look like it’s too thick, too much sugar, not enough liquid, but that’s actually okay. Now, the original recipe says to boil it for only 2 or 3 minutes, but here’s what I found out in retrospect – boil it until your sugar is kind of melted. So instead of 2.5, don’t panic; boil it out for at least 4 minutes. Besides, boiling this sugary mix is going to look super entertaining.

When that’s done, turn off the heat and add your peanut butter and vanilla. Mix until smooth and nicely melted too. Put your icing sugar in a bowl, and pour your hot mix on top of it. This too will look like it’s too liquid, but just keep stirring until you get a nice, shiny paste. (Can you hear those calories sing?)

To make my fudge look awesome, I used some silicone ice cube trays to shape my pieces – they’re really awesome. I had a flower and a heart-shaped tray, so I filled those up, wiping away any excess on the top. If you don’t have those, just use any baking tray, like square or rectangle. Or whatever suits your fancy. Whack it into the fridge for a loooong time – I left it overnight to make sure.

IMG_3223
I was pretty positive that no one in my family would like the fudge – you know, too sweet, too fatty, too meh. To my surprise though, half of my huge batch was eaten on Christmas eve; and the shaped fudge made such an awesome present! If you’re stuck, broke or lazy, this really is the recipe for you. I mean, in the end, who doesn’t like this kind of sin?
About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

