Blue Cheese Biscuits – A Classic Showstopper for Any Occasion

I hope you’ve all now finished digesting your Christmas dinners and lunches and post-Christmas leftovers – I know I have, and now the shame kicks in. But just until I start my diet (yeah, right), here’s another party recipe that is a 100% winner, no doubt.
bluecheesebiscuit (3)
Ironically, I learnt this recipe from the maths teacher who got me out of high school (really). I mean, if it wasn’t for her, I probably would be worse off, but thanks to her brilliance (and patience), I managed to achieve a beautiful 60% on my final exam. Anyway, on one of our last lessons, she offered me a biscuit, and it was so good I had to have the recipe.
I make these biscuits every Christmas, and I’m not lying when I say that they are always the first to go. And this year was special, because they even turned out good-looking (not the picture above, unfortunately – I forgot to photograph the pretty ones. Yes, it’s true. Proof below.)
So here’s the recipe for the success-biscuits. Your ingredients:
300g flour (any kind)
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
3 tbsp milk
200g blue cheese – anything you fancy
So to start off with, mix the flour and butter together until they’re completely mixed. It will look like sand or bread crumbs. Once that’s done, add your wet ingredients (egg, milk) and mix – finally, crumble in the cheese. Mix this together until you have a dough that’s come together. The best thing now is to chill for half an hour.
I accidentally left it in the fridge for 2 hours. Woops.
Not that it’s bad for it, it’s just that it will need more time to warm up again so that you can work it. But thanks to my forgetfulness, I actually got to experiment with the dough. I cut it into two pieces – I put one aside to warm up. The other one, if you need quick results, is best to bash with a rolling pin (for stress relief and also to soften the dough).
So the first batch, I did like I always used to do. Roll the dough into a long, sausage-like shape – it’s best not to make it too thick to get smaller sized biscuits. Then slice the long sausage into little circles (these are your biscuits). The reason this is never pretty is that no matter how sharp your knife, the slices will still look more like squares than circles. Anyway, line a baking sheet with baking paper, pile your biscuits and bake them until golden brown (about 15-20 minutes).
The second batch turned out pretty because I waited – and I could roll out the dough properly and make some nice Christmas biscuits like so:
bluecheesebiscuit (7)
So if you’re impatient, you’ll be left with less pretty, but none the less delicious biscuits and you have my word – everyone will love these. There’s a reason they’ve been a tradition at ours since I graduated from high school (wow. That’s a good 4 years ago now!)
Oh and… Happy new year!

bluecheesebiscuit (1)

About sgrvrnk

Vera Sugár, graduate with a journalism and creative writing degree, started writing at the age of 10. Passionate about literature, arts, history and languages, she speaks fluent English, French and Spanish. Her works are available at http://goodaswinter.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Blog, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

